A different type of education from David Foster Wallace

Without intending to sound overly dramatic, I am soooo busy at the moment. Like, manic. My to-do list is now a running joke between myself and my teaching partner because of my tendency to add more to the list than I cross off. Don’t get me wrong. I enjoy being busy and I find it hard to not volunteer myself for projects or opportunities at work that I am interested in. The downside, as you can imagine, is that I tend to decrease my leisure time which can lead to a perpetual longing for school holidays!

Tonight I put myself to bed at 7.30 in the hopes of recharging my battery a bit. I got bored so I watched a couple of TED talks on my iPad. A recently featured talk, ‘David Foster Wallace: This is Water’ resonated so much with me at this moment I cried (just a little, no need to feel sorry for me!) Yep, totally a combination of stress and exhaustion, but also that it rung so true.

The clip goes on for around ten minutes and if you do choose to watch, please go right to the end. This is where the message about ‘choosing your attitude’, something I wrote about in my last post, ‘What we can learn from FISH’, was reiterated for me. I loved this clip and I hope you enjoy it also.

A different type of education from David Foster Wallace

2 thoughts on “A different type of education from David Foster Wallace

Leave a Reply

